Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Is the State Exam Fee included in the class fee? If not, how much is it?
A: No. The fee for the state exam is paid directly to the testing service and not to us. The fee is $94.00.
Q: What if I cannot afford to pay the $750 for the class is there any funding or financial aide available?
A: We offer payment arrangements to assist students with paying for the classes. However, financial assistance may also be available through certain local agencies if you meet their eligibility requirements. You may contact agencies such as Region 2000 or Lynchburg Community Action Group in Lynchburg, Goodwill Industries in Roanoke, Department of Social Services, Department of Rehabilitative Services in areas throughout the state.
Q: Do you do job placement after the class?
A: We help you by giving you a listing of local employers. Local Human Resource Managers visit our campus frequently offering information about employment to students.
Q: Am I guaranteed a job with Generation Solutions once I complete the class?
A: You are not obligated nor guaranteed to work for Generation Solutions when you complete the class. However, we welcome the opportunity to hire compassionate and competent caregivers for our clients if you are interested in the home care area of health care.
Q: Can I take the Nurse Aide Class if I have a crime on my record but it’s a misdemeanor charge?
A: You may be able to take the class with a misdemeanor charge as the Board of Nursing allows. Please refer to the following link for more information on the barrier crimes policy and it’s allowances.
Q: How soon after I take the Nurse Aide Class can I take my State Board Exam?
A: Once you have received a certificate of successful completion, you may apply for the state certification exam. It takes at least two weeks for you to get confirmation of a test date.
Q: Do I have to drive to Richmond to take the State Exam?
A: No. There are several sites throughout the state of Virginia. You may go to www.nacesplus.org for further details.
Q: What happens if I fail my State Board Exam? Can I retake the exam? If so, do I have to pay to take it again?
A: If you fail all or part of your state certification exam, you may retake the exam. You must repay only for the part that you are retaking. For example, if you fail the skills portion of the test but pass the written, you will only be required to redo the skills portion within a period of two years.
Q: Who hires CNAs?
A: Nursing homes, hospitals, assisted living facilities, home health agencies, and other private health care facilities hire CNA’s.
Q: I am certified in another state but I just recently moved to Virginia, will my credentials transfer to become licensed in the State of Virginia or will I have to take the class again?
A: You must contact the Virginia Board of Nursing to find out if your credentials would transfer.
Q: I am a Certified Nursing Assistant but my license is expired do I need to retake the entire course?
A: You would need to contact the Virginia Board of Nursing as each individual situation may be different.
Q: I am a college student and I have classes in both the day and the evening can I switch between the day and evening classes in this course?
A: No. Since the day and evening classes are on different schedules, we are not able to offer that option.
Didn’t find an answer to your question? Please contact us.